A Bail Bond or a Surety Bond is a contract guaranteed by a state licensed bail bondsman who is backed by an insurance company. The bail agent or the bail bonds agency is responsible for the full bond amount in case the defendent fails to appear to all court dates. Make sure you always deal with a licensed bail agent.
Pico Rivera Bail Bonds FAQs:
How much does a bail bond cost?
In California the bail bond premium is 10% of the bail amount. Each state sets their rates and the rates are non-negotiable.
The bail bond has no hidden fees or taxes. For example if the bail amount is 10,000 then the bail bond premium or the fee will be 1000. The Bail Bond agency in California (by California law) is not allowed to charge more or less than 10%
How is the bail amount set?
Public safety is always taken into consideration before the bail amount is set. The more severe or dangerous the crime the higher the bail amount . County bail schedules will generally include bail amount for the crime and also for extenuating circumstances. For example a bail schedule for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI or (DWI) will also include a higher amount for the DUI if there was an accident with an injury or fatality.
How do I pay for a bail bond?
All major credit cards are acceptable by Sunrise Bail Bonds Pico Rivera. However, we do realize that sometimes our clients don’t have enough money to pay the bail bond at the exact time, so we do offer different payment options such as financing and payment plans. There usually isn’t any need for collateral but in some cases there is and we will work with you to ensure that you get your bail bond.
What happens after arrest?
What happens to somebody who is arrested usually depends on the location they are arrested in because some regulations differ in different cities. Usually the person will be taken for booking and processing at the local police station. The arrestee will then be finger printed and any personal property will be taken for safekeeping by an officer. Some inmates could remain in jail for up to 48 hours before they get to see a court commissioner. By law, the State of CA, must let an arrestee see a court commissioner in 24 hours for misdemeanors and 48 hours for felonies.
How does bailing someone out of jail work?
To bail someone out of jail, they have to be clear for bail 1st, and then you could contact one of our agents to begin the process. You will have to provide some personal information and fill out some paperwork, claiming responsibility for the inmate if he or she does not show up to their assigned court date. Once all of the paperwork is done, our agent will get if verified with the jailer at the police station and then the inmate will be released to your custody.